Sunday 22 August.

What a day of highly competitive, entertaining and tense golf.

The tone for the day was set with the Noosa Springs boys, who beat a very strong Headland outfit in the semi-final, taking on the previously undefeated Mt Coolum team. After 9 holes Noosa Springs were down in five of the seven matches and things looked a little grim. Both the number 5 and 6 pairings finished all square after 18 holes so they set off down the 19th hole to determine a winner.  The Noosa Springs boys prevailed taking out both matches on the 19th hole.  With the number ones match finishing on 17  the status stood tantalisingly at 3  matches each.  The overall result now hinged on the the number 2s coming down the 18th.  A win on the 18th to Mt Coolum meant that match finished all square and the boys proceeded down the first again to decide the result of the day.  Three holes later Noosa Springs secured the deciding win.

In B Grade the undefeated Mt Coolum team looked to go three in a row when they took on the boys from Peregian.  Despite forfeiting all seven matches on one day Pergeian managed to get up to a semi-final position in the last round of the season.  Mt Coolum moved in to the final with a good win over a strong Noosa team in the semi.  Peregian showed their ability by staging a determined win over the previously undefeated Cooroy team.  This one shaped up to be another very tight match.  Captain Jamie Franklin got Mt Coolum off to a flying start with a convincing 8 & 6 win before Todd and Taylor turned the tide by winning the number 6 and 7 matches for Peregian.  Jim Rice squared it up - two matches all.  Nathan Collins and Adrain King went down the 19th with Nathan sealing a win.  David Ly squared it up again with a 2 & 1 win.  Three matches all and the number 3's left to decide the overall winner on the 18th.  Looking to be in trouble behind the 18th green Mick Mraz played the chip of his life to leave the ball only inches from the hole,  win his match 1 up and give Mt Coolum their third consecutive B Grade pennant title.

The A Grade was always going to be a close tussle.  Both these teams, Noosa and Headland, have a proud pennant history.  They had played off in last years final with Noosa taking out a narrow win so the Headland boys were keen to reverse that this year.  Ryan Mulder got Noosa off to a good star winning his match before Scottt Walker turned in a sterling 9 & 7 win to square the ledger for Headland.  Sam Boulden went down the 19th with Sean McGill with Sam eventually taking out the win after one hole.  Adam Rydwanski evened it up again for Headland before Cooper and George sealed the day with wins to give Noosa an unassailable 4 matches. The 4 - 3 win saw Noosa take out their third consecutive A Grade Pennant title.

Congratulations to Noosa Spings Juniors,  Noosa Springs Masters, Mt Coolum B Grade and Noosa A Grade who will now represent Sunshine Coast Golf Zone against Glasshouse Mountains Golf Zone in the inaugral District Pennant Final at Beerwah on 5th September.


Mt Coolum Masters Captain Noosa Springs Captain Mt Coolum B Captain Peregian Captain Noosa A Captain Headland A Captain
NoosaSpringsTeam MtCoolumBGrade NoosaATeam
Noosa Springs Noosa Springs 2 - 1 Maroochy River Maroochy River 3
Noosa Springs Noosa Springs 4 - 3 Mt Coolum Mt Coolum
Mt Coolum Mt Coolum 4 - 3 Peregian Peregian
Noosa Noosa 4 - 3 Heaadland Headland
Drummond Golf          Pennant Player of the Year
Juniors - Iona Muir (Maroochy River)
Masters - Peter Perrett (Headland)
B Grade - Chris Wright (Noosa)
A Grade - Liam Dawson ( Caloundra)


Glenn Esden 4   2 & 1 7 Michael Mason
Barry Bowditch 5   21st 7 Simon Cotton
David O'Connell 5 3 & 2   7 Andrew Horner
Chris Rolph 8 2 & 1   8 Andrew Tregaskis
Darryl Frost 10   19th 9 Chris Collinge
Allan Smee 13   19th 12 Jean Luc Chaudet
Paul Norman 13 2 Up   13 Marcus Dolby
Leighton Martin 7   2 & 1 4 David Ly
Jamie Franklin 7 8 & 6   4 Michael Tripp
Mick Mraz 7 1 Up   5 Tyler Paris
Nathan Collins 8 19th   6 Adrian King
Jim Rice 8 4 & 2   7 Adam Cant
Brendan Cassidy 9   5 & 3 11 Todd Clarke
Andrew Stephenson 13   4 & 3 12 Taylor Moffat
Toby Harding   2 & 1 David Ratray
George Giblett 4 & 2   Ben Duncombe
Cooper Calrke 2 Up   Josh Holbrook
Alec O'Brien   3 & 2 Adam Rydwanski
Sam Boulden 21st   Sean McGill
Alex Officer   9 & 7 Adam Richards
Ryan Mulder 4 & 2   Scott Walker


Next Post Previous Post